top of page

The Thrill Game - Part II

Last week we spoke about why we started the company and how I really felt doing my first very event, today I will let you in on something more interesting.


I was talking to an event manager recently and she told me that it's so difficult to motivate her people if there's no incentive attached and I started to think how ridiculous that idea sounded because if you are not having fun and if you don't love what you are doing, giving money to them won't magically make them stop complaining about vendors or the management. He won't care less about what's going on even if it's this little detail that impacts the mood. I strongly feel this does not come through any textbook training, it's the level of interest you have towards what you love. This is discipline and you know what? No matter how much incentive you throw in, you can't have this. It's Intrinsic. So how to hire someone who loves their work? You don't. You make them fall in love with the process because you are passionate about the game. When I gave her this piece of advise of course she was blown away but I went deep into considering what made me say this to her. This definitely had to do something with all the job interviews I had attended.


After last weeks podcast someone asked me why that why did I take up so many job interviews and reject them if I knew they weren't good enough?

I honestly wanted to have a job back then because of the pressure; the society has on you for not having a job so I gave in my all into trying to find one. I actually took up a job because my dad was so stressed about it so when I started working I was as usual in my full spirit and - I spoke to the people who were working with me who were clearly not interested in their posts and I started maintaining daily reports of what I am doing vs what I am supposed to do. I was immediately assigned to odd jobs in the company- getting some prints, making phone calls, submitting bills,etc. I wrote everything down for a week and submitted a full-blown review to my boss and HR stating what I have been doing vs what my potential is. It obviously backfired as my boss thought I was being repulsive. So I continued working, unmotivated as they started micro-managing ever single move. My boss would call me every half an hour and ask me - what I was doing and if I had nothing I was considered a waste of resource (Of course they would,they are paying me) and would hand over things that made my life worse haha. I know there's not too much to expect all the times when there is no client or if it's an off season but do you notice how the morale goes down?


Do you notice a pattern in this behaviour? Event Planners need quick results out of people who are willing to give away hours of work for them, for what? I am not calling you out on things but the biggest question I ask myself when I am at work is that - Is this the highest quality of work life that I want to lead? And I generally found myself fighting back tears remembering how thrilling it was having people around you producing the same kind energy and following the work ethic that was never taught to us. Working in the events industry can be really challenging and havig people around you who understand your passion and vision just as deeply make such a great impact I mean look at my story; if not for these 10 people in my team I would probably never had the pleasure of starting a company. You can have it too! Just make sure when you are hiring next, you are more emotionally intelligent.


I just don't want you guys to ever regret not tasing this feeling if you actually love the events industry. Let's work this out together,you are not alone. We got you!



I would like to end this on that note thanks so much for reading.


Bye!

0 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page