top of page

An Open Note to Event Managers : Creating Legacy

Updated: Apr 19, 2020

This probably is like an open note to that event manager who feels like they have to constantly try and prove themselves to other event managers of their worth because the industry judges you on this single most overrated question of: How many event do you do every year? The quality of our work has been judged based on this single question.


This Blog is only for those event managers that are insanely passionate about this industry. If at any point in your career it feels like gosh I am burning out from all this work and this isn't what I signed up for. Then I really want you to consider what truly makes you happy and try & test those roles. I could personally never handle the fact that in a wedding,right in the middle of all the chaos, I am standing and I am not happy about the fact that I am there. I say this because I have taken up the wrong role in the wedding just recently. So this blog is coming from a place of respect for work, for ethics and for myself. I want to document everything that is happening right now with the industry and myself. So I was listening to this amazing podcast and when he was posed with the question of what does the service industry lack? His answer took me back to the reason why we started this company, he said the lack of emotional intelligence and empathy leads those losers into thinking that they run the show while systematically breaking every foundation they have created by micromanaging everything.

And I realized that this was the root cause of almost all the burnouts in every event that we have because you don't expect people to be nice to you. And when someone turns out to be kind we think there's a motive behind it and that's why we're better off working for or with people who are rude because at least they are real? How messed up is this now?


What people don't realize is the patterns that they create with their behavior. These patterns that are created cannot be broken by them because it is laced with ego. So my client was so used to treating people like shit that they didn't know any other means of operating. Where I think we need to start imbibing emotional intelligence is to first not take these personally and have the patience at the end of it, Second is to take your friking stand because no one will stand up for you if you don't for yourself, and third to put out plain facts as they are not willing to listen to anything that makes sense so break it down to them because it will save you from the stress. Lastly know when to walk away. Event managers are judged to be leaving an event midway but let me tell you (This is not for all) walking away is not a sign of disrespect it is actually your strength. This applies to you if you're working in event companies as well, bosses love micromanaging and if you feel that I need that 1 year on my CV because I'll be questioned in my next job; then you are looking at a one or two whole years of disappointment waiting for you while you structurally kill your passion along with your time. You can literally leave and at your next place of interview tell them that place was full of shit and was not well equipped with the means of providing the right advise. Worked for me, to be honest. Give them a reason to hire you? No, Let your passion talk for itself, it will work out.


This is something super personal and I have always wanted to share this with the ones that are keen about self growth in this industry and for those who are simultaneously questioning whether the shittiest kind of people only exist in this industry, I got you. Hope this got you some value,


Thanks so much for reading!


Will be back soon, Bye

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page